The Bologna Institute for Policy Research | Seminar Series Event | David-Taylor---Nina-Hall---Michael-Leigh-A-Discussion-on-Global-Challenges-European-Integration-and-International-Leadership-as-Viewed-from-the-Asia-Pacific-Region
December 5, 2019 - 18:30 Penthouse - International Relations Series

A Discussion on Global Challenges, European Integration, and International Leadership as Viewed from the Asia-Pacific Region
David Taylor - Nina Hall - Michael Leigh

hosted by Professor Michael Leigh

David Taylor
New Zealand Ambassador to the European Union and NATO
Nina Hall - Discussant
Johns Hopkins University SAIS Europe
Michael Leigh - Chair
Johns Hopkins University SAIS Europe


Nina Hall is Assistant Professor of International Relations at Johns Hopkins SAIS Europe. Her core areas of expertise are: international organizations, transnational advocacy, climate adaptation, and global refugee governance. She holds a DPhil (PhD) in International Relations from the University of Oxford and a Master's Degree from the University of Auckland, New Zealand. She previously worked as a lecturer at the Hertie School of Governance, and as a policy officer at the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Hall is currently writing a book on transnational advocacy in the digital era, to be published by Oxford University Press. She is a co-founder of an independent think tank, New Zealand Alternative, and frequently writes on New Zealand foreign policy.


Sir Michael Leigh is Academic Director, Master of Arts in European Public Policy; Senior Adjunct Professor of European and Eurasian Studies at the Johns Hopkins University SAIS Europe in Italy, and Senior Adviser at the German Marshall Fund of the United States, Belgium.

Leigh served as Director-General for Enlargement with the European Commission (2006-2011); Deputy Director-General for External Relations (2003-2006); cabinet member and official, European Commission (1977-2003); Assistant Professor of International Relations, SAIS Bologna Center (1976-1977); Lecturer in International Relations University of Sussex (1974-1976). Erskine Fellow (2017) University of Canterbury, New Zealand. Wilton Park Advisory Council; Covington, Brussels, Senior Adviser. His research, writing and public speaking focus on the future of the EU, Brexit, enlargement, neighborhood policy; Turkey's relations with the EU, Europe's response to political change in the Mediterranean and Middle East; energy questions in the eastern Mediterranean; public opinion and foreign policy.

Leigh also has an interest in Asia-Pacific and its relations with Europe. He holds a Bachelors degree in Philosophy, Politics and Economics from Oxford University and a PhD in Political Science from M.I.T.


Ambassador David Taylor was appointed New Zealand Ambassador to the European Union and NATO in July 2015.

At the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade in Wellington his roles have included Director of the Australia Division, Americas Division and Asia Division. He has been New Zealand's chief negotiator for climate change and a range of other environment issues. Prior to his appointment in Brussels, Taylor served as Ambassador to Indonesia and to ASEAN. He has also served as New Zealand's Ambassador to South Korea with accreditation to the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, as well as having diplomatic assignments in Kuala Lumpur, Washington DC and Suva. Taylor attended the University of Otago where he graduated with degrees in law and history.


American Foreign Policy
Conflict Management
Energy, Resources and Environment
European and Eurasian Studies
International Relations
Latin American Studies
Middle East Studies
Dana H. Allin
Matteo Alvisi
Edmund Amann
Veronica Anghel
Arthur Appleton
Athanasios Bozinis
Paolo Calzini
Emanuela Carbonara
Gabriel Cardona-Fox
Andrea Carosi
Anna Ottani Cavina
Raffaella A. Del Sarto
Vincent Della Sala
Marco Dell'Aquila
Giulio Ecchia
David W. Ellwood
Justin O. Frosini
Johannes Gabriel
Joshua Gallo
Marco Gestri
Mark Gilbert
Christopher L. Gilbert
Manfred Hafner
Nina Hall
John L. Harper
Arntraud Hartmann
Christopher Hill
Herman Hoen
William Hynes
Søren Jessen-Petersen
Erik Jones
Kenneth H. Keller
Péter Krekó
Winrich Kühne
Francesco Lancia
Michael Leigh
Barbara Luppi
Adrian Lyttelton
Susanna Mancini
Massimiliano Marzo
Giulia Mascagni
Hanns Maull
Hartmut Mayer
Jacqueline Mazza
Alessandro Merli
Erika Meucci
Farhad Mirza
Francesco N. Moro
Alireza Naghavi
Olga Oliker
Gianfranco Pasquino
Sara Pennicino
Michael G. Plummer
Samir Puri
Thomas Row
Tian Shaoying
Tommaso Sonno
Francesco Strazzari
Filippo Taddei
Simone Tagliapietra
David C. Unger
Sanam Vakil
Francesc Vendrell
Cleo Verkuijl
Marcus Walsh-Führing
Richard Wilcox
Andrew C. Winner
Stefano Zamagni
Vera Negri Zamagni
Lea Zicchino



Johns Hopkins University - School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS)